~ First Land Owners ~
On Oct 15th 1830, John and Susan Brant from Kentucky purchased 160 Acres of Central Illinois land at Palestine IL from the United states Government , paying $1.25 per acre. On April 24th 1837 The Brants Sold the land, which as of 1833, was located in Urbana in the new Champaign County, to William T. Webber, also a Kentuckian, for the sum of 1000.00 dollars .
Upon William Webbers death on Sept 9 , 1838, Thomson Webber was appointed Administrator of the estate of his father. Unfortunately do to legal reasons the courts had to appoint Mathew Busey, Edward Arter and John Campbell as commissioners to make assignment of dower and partition the land. Nancy Webber, Widow of William T Webber received 160 acres for her Dower and the remaining property was divided evenly amongst the heirs. [Map]
Thomson Webber, the oldest son of William Webber,who happens to be the first post master and county Clerk of Champaign Co was given property's marked section No 4. Thomson least 5 acres of one property, north east of town, to Royal A Sutton for acquiring the clay for making bricks. The following year Mr Sutton bought the land from Mr Webber for 240.00 dollars. The Sutton Brick and Tile Company sold the land in 1889 to a James Clinton Hurd. Andrew Barr purchased the land from Mr Hurd in june of 1890. The property that Royal A Sutton bought is known today as the 700 block of east University Ave.
[Known in the 1880's as the Brick Yard Property]
Section No.5, was inherited by Augustine M. Webber.The land was sold to a James Myers in 1867 who in turn sold it three years later to a Morrison Cain. One year later in 1871 Cain broke up the property and sold 3/5th of the land to Judge Joseph.Cunningham and the remaining 2/5th was sold to William B Webber. In April of 1887 Andrew Barr and company bought Judge Joseph Cunninghams share of the property and then aquired the other 2/5th from the Webbers in Sept of that same year. The land that Andrew Barr purchased became the 800 block of University Ave.
The 900 block, part of section No 6 was 5 acres off the south end of 14.41 acres owned by there sister Eliza Webber Thompson. The Land was eventually sold to Richard Cowley and is known today as Cowleys first and second addition